PAUL LEITNER

Paul Leitner’s work often takes the form of common arrangements or apparatuses that normally function under simple mechanisms and physical laws, yet when he adapts or modifies the pieces slightly they come to deploy unexpected, symbolic, poetic or critical effects. Tools or instruments, clocks, thermometers, nuts or railway tracks become the markers of historical shifts, economic and socio-political processes – meaning improvements, but also standardisation, control and normalisation. A norm, from the Latin norma, meaning ‘square’ or ‘rule’, designates a widespread condition and is considered a rule to be followed. Leitner works both with and against norms – be they metric, temporal, material, technical or aesthetic norms – with an obvious economy of means. The materials used are often ‘insignificant’: found, swapped or bought at a low price. Forms mainly result from functions. Processes are mainly left to their entropy – or the entropy of an already existing system is fostered.

The traveler (2012), for example, is a series of kinetic sculptures in which a wind tunnel – a DIY adaption of construction sector and industrial techniques – maintains a seed suspended in the air – thereby suspending the cycle of reproduction. Characterising pioneer vegetal species, able to colonise new continents, the dissemination by the wind is substituted in the work by a perpetuum mobile. The seed is transformed into a laboratory subject, sterile. The whole dispositive draws the attention on an ephemeral and almost invisible phenomenon and makes it mysterious and poetic, this way poetising as well the idea of a permanent nomadism.

Text: Anne Faucheret

Download Biography as PDF

*1983 in Vienna

Exhibitions (Selection):

2019
Antisolubility of Difference, unttld contemporary, Wien (solo)(A)

2018
Galerie Km0, Innsbruck (A)

2017
Lightness is matter. Matter is lightness, Kunstraum Niederösterreich, Vienna (A)
ich weiß nicht, Wie die Beziehungen zwischen den Dingen wachsen, Vienna Biennale, MAK Vienna (A)

2016
All kinds of objects, unttld contemporary, Vienna (solo) (A)
BEFORE#####AFTER #DIGITAL#ART#AND#CYBERSPACE, Kunstraum Super, Vienna (A)

2015
Destination Wien, Kunsthalle Wien, Vienna (A)
Rejection, unttld contemporary, Vienna (A)

2013
Leitner | Leitner “paper-jack”, “four at six” Künstlerdorf Neumarkt an der Raab, Neumarkt an der Raab (A)

2012
naked fire “the traveler”, Neue Galerie, Innsbruck (A)
generation 21 “the traveler”, Landesgalerie Burgenland, Eisenstadt (A)
Lafin c’estmerde “the traveler”, Lafin C’estmerde, Vienna (A)

2011
blossoms of a multitude “paper jack”, Künstlerhaus Palais Thurn und Taxis, Bregenz (A)
next generation “DO = 05 54E2″, Künstlerdorf Neumarkt an der Raab, Neumarkt an der Raab (A)
Franzi’s choice “1und1″, Museum of Too Modern Art, Litija, Slovenia

2010
other dimensions “paper jack”,  Schikaneder,  Vienna (A)

2009                                                                                                                                                                                       Alias in Wonderland “l-p-r-n-t-s-c-r-n”, MQ quartier 21, Freiraum, Vienna (A)

PAUL LEITNER

Paul Leitners Arbeiten nehmen oft Formen von alltäglichen Arrangements oder Apparaturen an, die für gewöhnlich unter ganz einfachen Mechanismen und physikalischen Gesetzen funktionieren. Wenn er sie allerdings auch nur marginal anpasst oder verändert, erschaffen sie unerwartete, symbolträchtige, poetische, ja sogar kritische Effekte. So werden etwa Werkzeuge oder Instrumente, Uhren, Thermometer, Nüsse oder Gleisanlagen zu Ansatzpunkten historischer Verschiebungen, wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftspolitischer Prozesse – die Verbesserungen, aber auch Standardisierung, Kontrolle und Normalisierung hervorrufen. Eine Norm, aus dem lateinischen norma, also „Quadrat“ oder „Regel“, bezeichnet eine weit verbreitete Bedingung und gilt als Regel zu befolgen. Leitner arbeitet sowohl mit als auch gegen Normen – seien sie metrische, zeitliche, materielle, technische oder ästhetische Normen – mit einer offensichtlichen Ökonomie der Mittel. Die verwendeten Materialien sind oft „unbedeutend“: gefunden, getauscht oder billig gekauft. Formen ergeben sich hauptsächlich aus Funktionen. Prozesse werden vor allem ihrer Entropie überlassen – oder die Entropie eines bereits bestehenden Systems wird hervorgehoben.

the traveler (2012), zum Beispiel, besteht aus einer Reihe kinetischer Skulpturen, in denen ein Windkanal – eine DIY-Adaption von Baubranchen- und Industrietechniken – in der Luft freigesetztes Saatgut beinhaltet und damit den Reproduktionszyklus aussetzt. Pionierpflanzenarten werden angedacht, die in der Lage sind, neue Kontinente zu kolonisieren und die Verbreitung durch den Wind wird in der Arbeit durch jene eines perpetuum mobiles ersetzt. Der Samen wird in ein steriles Versuchsobjekt verwandelt. Das gesamte System lenkt die Aufmerksamkeit auf ein kurzlebiges und fast unsichtbares Phänomen und macht es geheimnisvoll und poetisch und so auch die Idee eines permanenten Nomadismus.

Text: Anne Faucheret

 

 

Biografie als PDF herunterladen

geboren 1983 in Wien

Ausstellungen (Auswahl):

2016
Paul Leitner, unttld contemporary, Wien (solo) (A)
BEFORE#####AFTER #DIGITAL#ART#AND#CYBERSPACE, Kunstraum Super, Wien (A)

2015
Destination Wien, Kunsthalle Wien, Wien (A)
Rejection, unttld contemporary, Wien (A)

2013
Leitner | Leitner “paper-jack”, “four at six” Künstlerdorf Neumarkt an der Raab, Neumarkt an der Raab (A)

2012
naked fire “the traveler”, Neue Galerie, Innsbruck (A)
generation 21 “the traveler”, Landesgalerie Burgenland, Eisenstadt (A)
Lafin c’estmerde “the traveler”, Lafin C’estmerde, Wien (A)

2011
blossoms of a multitude “paper jack”, Künstlerhaus Palais Thurn und Taxis, Bregenz (A)
next generation “DO = 05 54E2″, Künstlerdorf Neumarkt an der Raab, Neumarkt an der Raab (A)
Franzi’s choice “1und1″, Museum of Too Modern Art, Litija (SLO)

2010
other dimensions “paper jack”,  Schikaneder,  Wien (A)

2009                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Alias in Wonderland “l-p-r-n-t-s-c-r-n”, MQ quartier 21, Freiraum, Wien (A)