Sofia Goscinski | Believer

Sofia Goscinski – Believer

The fragment of a body transmits cryptic signals: a bent arm, its upper end leading into a stump. The biceps slightly tensed, completely without the toning of muscle exercises, fist clenched. The thumb and digitus quintus of the long-limbed hand are splayed out, while the index and ring fingers, wedged into one another, form a triangle. The curved middle finger rests on the arm stump. It is this detail that the clay sculpture entitled Le main d’Artaud owes its self-enclosed form. The obvious association here is to Antonin Artaud, the theatre revolutionary between genius and madness, with an ascetic appearance, something martyr-like dwelling there already in early years. The relic-like object radiates – like so many works by Sofia Goscinski – an existential fundamental mood and mysteriousness.

In her third solo presentation at unttld contemporary, Goscinski brings together sculptures and pictures under the title Believer, albeit – at first glance at least – they seem only loosely related. Besides Le Main d’Artaud, we encounter a portrait of WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange sketched in limber brushstrokes, a rain dancer with water jug in Desert Plants – ceiling-high, concrete-gray steles –, a floor sculpture made of a coat and bronzed hands jutting out of the sleeves. The latter evokes the association with gestures of prayer or submission. And then a canvas work, the background washed in skin color, on which the English adverb Not seems to turn into fluid. Out of the ground of the thickly layered paint, scarcely perceivable, there arises the word Paranoia. And finally – in this highly idiosyncratic combination of very different carriers of meaning – the self-portrait of the artist in the form of a death mask.

What to believe or not to believe in to give direction to one’s own life? Which inner attitude needs to be fostered, which standpoint taken, which conviction pursued? Fundamental questions like these lay the intellectual foundations for the exhibition Believer. Taking up the lead provided by the title, the single components of the show plausibly converge. Artaud, who tirelessly tweaked at his conception of a theatre of cruelty, which though at the time never quite came together, but exerted enormous influence on following generations. Assange, who swears by the democratizing power of the internet to put an end to political secretiveness and covert operations. Demonized by his opponents, venerated by his allies because he campaigns for a transparent knowledge society. Rain Dance pointing to the confidence indigenous peoples have in dancing rituals to bring about the long-hoped-for rain. The sculpture group Desert Plants, a symbol for the desert as a place of knowledge, but also where mirages like the fata morgana cloud and delude the mind.

In Goscinski’s exhibition, Believer does not mean the followers of religious or ideological communities. Rather, the artist is interested in actions and their consequences which are grounded in individual will and convictions, not fixated into dogmas. Thus finally, the death mask as self-portrait functions as a mirror. Who am I? What do I believe in? Or have trust in? What am makes me up and what can I bring about? Sofia Goscinski stages the dilemma of (artistic) self-reflection against the foil of famous names, symbolic landscapes and ritual-like props. As visitors to her exhibition we are – at the end – thrown back to ourselves. And ponder.

Manisha Jothady
Translation: Paul Bowman

Sofia Goscinski | Believer

Sofia Goscinski – Believer
09.06. – 31.07.2020

Das Fragment eines Körpers sendet kryptische Signale: Ein gebeugter Arm, dessen oberes Ende in einen Stumpf mündet. Der Bizeps leicht angespannt, ganz ohne Muskeltraining mit geballter Faust. Denn Daumen und digitus quintus der langgliedrigen Hand sind gespreizt, während Zeige- und Ringfinger ineinander verkeilt ein Dreieck formen. Der gekrümmte Mittelfinger ruht auf dem Armstumpf. Es ist dieses Detail, dem die als „Le main d’Artaud“ betitelte Tonskulptur ihre in sich geschlossene Form verdankt. Man mag an Antonin Artaud als Theaterrevolutionär zwischen Genie und Wahnsinn denken, an sein asketisches Äußeres, dem schon früh etwas Märtyrerhaftes innewohnte. Das reliquienhaft anmutende Objekt strahlt jedenfalls – wie so viele Arbeiten von Sofia Goscinski – eine existenzielle Grundstimmung und Rätselhaftigkeit aus.

In ihrer dritten Solopräsentation bei unttld contemporary führt Goscinski unter dem Titel „Believer“ Skulpturen und Bilder zusammen, die – so scheint es zunächst – nur lose in Zusammenhang stehen. Neben „Le main d’Artaud“ treffen wir auf das mit lockerem Pinselstrich skizzierte Konterfei von Wikileaksgründer Julian Assange, auf eine Regentänzerin mit Wasserkrug, auf „Desert Plants“ – raumhohe, betongraue Stelen –, auf eine Bodenskulptur, bestehend aus einem Mantel und bronzenen Händen, die aus den Ärmeln ragen. Letztere lässt Gesten der Anbetung oder Unterwerfung assoziieren. Dann ein in Hautfarbe getünchtes Leinwandbild auf dem sich das englische Adverb Not verflüssigt. Aus dem Untergrund der dicken Farbschicht, kaum wahrnehmbar, steigt das Wort Paranoia auf. Und schließlich – im Reigen dieser höchst eigensinnigen Kombination unterschiedlich anmutender Bedeutungsträger – das Selbstporträt der Künstlerin in Form einer Totenmaske.

Woran glauben oder nicht, um dem eigenen Leben Richtung zu geben? Welche innere Haltung einnehmen, welchen Standpunkt beziehen, welcher Überzeugung folgen? Grundsätzliche Fragen wie diese bilden das gedankliche Fundament für die Ausstellung „Believer“. Dem Titel folgend fügen sich nun auch die einzelnen Komponenten der Schau gut zusammen. Artaud, der unermüdlich an seinem Konzept des Theaters der Grausamkeit feilte, das seinerzeit nie so recht aufgehen wollte, aber großen Einfluss auf die Generationen nach ihm hatte. Assange, der auf die demokratisierende Kraft des Internets schwor, um politischer Geheimniskrämerei ein Ende zu setzen. Der von seinen Gegnern dämonisiert, von seinen Mitstreitern verehrt wird, weil er für eine transparente Wissensgesellschaft plädiert. Die Arbeit „Raindance“ als Verweis auf die Zuversicht von Naturvölkern, dass Tanzrituale den langersehnten Regen herbeiführen. Die Skulpturengruppe „Desert Plants“ – ein Sinnbild für die Wüste als Ort der Erkenntnis, aber auch als jener, wo Trugbilder wie die Fata Morgana den Verstand vernebeln.

In Goscinskis Ausstellung sind mit „Believer“ nicht die Anhänger von religiösen oder ideologischen Gemeinschaften gemeint. Vielmehr interessieren die Künstlerin Handlungen und deren Tragweite, die auf individuellem Willen, auf Überzeugungen abseits von Dogmen gründen. So kommt der Totenmaske als Selbstporträt schließlich die Funktion eines Spiegels zu. Wer bin ich? Woran glaube ich? Was macht mich aus und was kann ich bewirken? Sofia Goscinski inszeniert das Dilemma der (künstlerischen) Selbstreflexion vor der Folie großer Namen, symbolischer Landschaften und ritualhaft anmutender Versatzstücke. Als BesucherInnen ihrer Ausstellung sind wir am Ende auf uns selbst zurückgeworfen.

Manisha Jothady