Samuel Schaab | Repeat All

A stone – formed an eternity ago, it has outlasted generations and civilisations; stable and durable, yet also nothing more than compressed matter, back into which it too will eventually crumble. In the meantime, in the interval of its existence as stone, just like everything made, an archive from where the past can be read, a storage medium, one that decays with grand inertia, a ruin.

The works of today are the ruins of the future. A sound recording on magnetic tape, an instable storage medium of words soon no longer comprehensible. Heads of stone, constructs and machines of steel, structures of concrete, fleeting idols and symbols of the hierarchies from societies which history brings forth in cycles, only to let them collapse again. Wind and tides ablate the material relicts of social systems, layer by layer, extinguish their archives; new societies overwrite them, constantly producing further archives, still unread. What man creates so that it outlives his own earthly span of being is no less delicate than his very own existence.

But whilst we exist, we continue to give things meaning, forming them, burdening them. A stone, at first nothing more than just another exchangeable fragment from an imposing rock formation, is removed and aligned, de-scribed and dis-cussed, ex-posed and in-spected. Mute matter is turned into an object with meaning. Give up the inspecting and discussing though, and if descriptions are lost or become indeterminable, then the meaning evaporates too.

The word serves the description, combinable and re-combinable out of a given set of elements, a vocabulary. A vocabulary also underlies Schaab’s sculptures and installations, time and time again newly coupled single pieces – metal parts, pipes, cables, sound sources, light fixtures, and images – melt into complex structures which intimate a possible or a one-time function and usage. Massive and fragile at once, they suggest a delicately sensitive balance of powerful forces, which would be released upon the slightest tilt.

A Schaab exhibition is not the presentation of single works, it is the setting up of a system for a limited time, interwoven in the respective space. The sound, light and material of individual works interpenetrate, visual and perceptual axes overlay one another, and ever new nexuses and links emerge. The living encounters the dead, the fleeting the concrete – white black, voice stone. In an eternal loop of iterations, ascribing and dispersing follow one another.

Text: Moritz Stipsicz, 2017

Samuel Schaab | Repeat All

Ein Stein – vor ewigen Zeiten entstanden überdauert er Generationen und Zivilisationen; stabil und dauerhaft, doch auch er nur komprimierte Materie, in die er schließlich wieder verfallen wird. Indessen, im Zwischenraum seines Bestehens als Stein, wie jedes Gebilde ein Archiv, aus dem sich Vergangenes ablesen lässt, ein Speicher, der mit großer Trägheit verfällt, eine Ruine.

Die Werke von heute sind die Ruinen der Zukunft. Eine Tonaufnahme auf Magnetband, instabiler Speicher bald nicht mehr verständlicher Worte. Köpfe aus Stein, Konstrukte und Maschinen aus Stahl, Bauten aus Beton, vergängliche Götzen und Symbole der Hierarchien von Gesellschaften, die die Geschichte in Zyklen hervorbringt und wieder kollabieren lässt. Wind und Gezeiten tragen Schicht für Schicht ab von den materiellen Relikten sozialer Systeme, löschen ihre Archive; neue Gesellschaften überschreiben sie und erzeugen dabei stetig weitere, noch ungelesene. Was der Mensch erschafft, damit es sein irdisches Dasein überdauert, ist nicht weniger empfindlich als seine eigene Existenz.

Doch solange wir sind, geben wir den Dingen Bedeutung, indem wir sie formen, sie aufladen. Ein Stein, zunächst austauschbares Fragment einer mächtigen Steinformation, wird abgetragen und ausgerichtet, be-schrieben und be-sprochen, be-lichtet und be-schaut. Aus stummer Materie wird ein Gegenstand mit Bedeutung. Setzen Beschauung und Besprechung aus, und gehen Beschreibungen verloren oder werden unbestimmbar, so schwindet auch die Bedeutung.

Der Beschreibung dient das Wort, kombinierbar und re-kombinierbar aus einem vorgegebenen Satz an Elementen, einem Vokabular. Ebenso ein Vokabular liegt auch Schaabs Skulpturen und Installationen zugrunde, immer wieder neu gekoppelte Einzelstücke – Metallteile, Leitungen, Klangquellen, Leuchtkörper und Bilder – verschmelzen zu komplexen Strukturen, die eine mögliche, oder eine ehemalige Funktion und Verwendung andeuten. Massiv und fragil zugleich suggerieren sie ein empfindliches Gleichgewicht großer Kräfte, die durch dessen Kippen freigesetzt würden.

Eine Ausstellung von Schaab ist keine Präsentation einzelner Arbeiten, sie ist die Einrichtung eines Systems für eine begrenzte Zeit, verwoben in den jeweiligen Raum. Ton, Licht und Materie einzelner Arbeiten durchdringen einander, Bild- und Wahrnehmungsachsen sind überlagert, und immer neue Verknüpfungen und Verweise treten zum Vorschein. Lebendiges trifft auf Totes, Flüchtiges auf Konkretes – Weißes auf Schwarzes, Stimme auf Stein. In einer ewigen Schleife von Iterationen verfolgen einander Festschreibung und Auflösung.

Text: Moritz Stipsicz, 2017